Sarah… a Godsend

picture
https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/

“Fifteen minutes after six,” I looked at my watch again. “Was I insane? I’ve only known her for three days. What on earth was I thinking… asking her to run away with me?”

It seemed the right thing to do.

Mother constantly created havoc in my life. A different man at the house every week… I was compelled to keep my doors bolted. Money kept mysteriously disappearing.

Mom had had a drinking problem since I was seven. When Dad left, it was a blessing. At least now I am not a punching bag.

In ten years, with as many visitors as we have had, you would have thought Mom would have had luck on her side. It seemed as if her choices were getting more and more undesirable.

Sarah… a Godsend! Charismatic. Understanding. Her father was still in the situation… that was the problem.

It was love at first sight.

I had already made up my mind… a new start was the only way.

A new start with one that I love… How could I be so lucky?




 

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Requirements: Using the picture prompt, create a 150 (25+/25-) flash fiction story.

11 thoughts on “Sarah… a Godsend

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.