Measuring a Successful Day in Writing

1-day-ill-write-a-book



Things to remember…



Some days I just have so many other things to do…

 “A writer who waits for ideal conditions under which to work will die without putting a word on paper.” 

E. B. White (Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little, and The Trumpet of the Swan)


How do I get better at this craft?

 “The repetition itself becomes the important thing.”

Haruki Murakami

“There is no rule on how to write. Sometimes it comes easily and perfectly; sometimes it’s like drilling rock and then blasting it out with charges.”

Ernest Hemingway

“You have to dream intentionally. Most people dream a dream when they are asleep. But to be a writer, you have to dream while you are awake, intentionally.”

Haruki Murakami


There is never time in my day to write…

 “When I’m in writing mode for a novel, I get up at four a.m. and work for five to six hours. In the afternoon, I run for ten kilometers or swim for fifteen hundred meters (or do both), then I read a bit and listen to some music. I go to bed at nine p.m”

Haruki Murakami

“I started writing when I had three kids under the age of 4. I used to write every ten minutes I got to sit in front of a computer. Now, when I have more time, I function the same way: if it’s writing time, I write.”

Jodi Picoult


I wouldn’t read this piece of  ****  to my dog…

“When you can’t create you can work.”  Henry Miller

“I have to write hundreds of pages before I get to page one.” Barbara Kingsolver

“You can’t edit a blank page.” Jodi Picoult


Sometimes you just have to listen to the tiny voices you hear in your study… 

“Trust me, Wilbur. People are very gullible. They’ll believe anything they see in print.”

Charlotte, the Spider



Written for The Daily Post: Measure. I have been having problems finding something of meaning to create an answer for the prompts this year. So I decided to strengthen and tighten my focus. My topics for the month of March are as follows:  (Monday) Teaching and Life; (Tuesday) Hobbies: Archaeology and Astronomy; (Wednesday) Fitness; (Thursday) Chores; (Friday) Writing; (Saturday) Hobbies: Music and Photography; and (Sunday) Hobbies: Gardening and Birdwatching. 

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.