NAPOWRIMO- 2017: #11

National Poetry Writing Month- 2017


 

11REQUIREMENTS: Today we were asked to write a poem that is a called The Bop. The Bop (Day 11) is a kind of combination sonnet + song. Like a Shakespearean sonnet, it introduces, discusses, and then solves (or fails to solve) a problem. Like a song, it relies on refrains and repetition. In the basic Bop poem, a six-line stanza introduces the problem, and is followed by a one-line refrain. The next, eight-line stanza discusses and develops the problem, and is again followed by the one-line refrain. Then, another six-line stanza resolves or concludes the problem, and is again followed by the refrain.  (Please, allow grace with my meter.) 



bigstockphoto_Boy_Writing_1456358-786377
http://www.blog.montessoriforeveryone.com/blog/uploaded_images/bigstockphoto_Boy_Writing_1456358-786377.jpg

A Writer Is Born

 

Starting to school at mere five

So many unknowns in the hive

But Mother had taught basics

Of reading and writing, by Day Six

I was happy and boisterous

Never seated, loquacious

If I had to do it all over again, I would.

 

Soon rules and procedures were drilled

And worksheets with answers to be filled

Brought doldrums and heartaches

Near suspensions, practiced mistakes

Forgetting books and misplacing checkers

I became a classroom wrecker

A new ‘gifted home’ I was found

The librarian’s’ helper, an isolated clown

If I had to do it all over again, I would.

 

A love of books, I was to be blessed

Bach’s classics, Picasso’s paintings, my own drummer’s nest

Egyptians, the Aztecs, train robbers, a NASCAR wreck

Novel horizons encountered at every call and beck

Changed wiggles and giggles to pondering squiggles

A new way of life. A path to adulthood.

If I had to do it all over again, I would.



Written for The National Poetry Writing Month- 2017

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

