King Henry VIII, I Am

Henry-VIII
http://gaukartifact.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Henry-VIII.jpg



King Henry VIII, I Am

Weeding: The Tenacious Task




If not for the ever-encroaching involvement of the abhorrent weed, I think gardening would be my favorite hobby.

Because of this, and the fact that my most discussed element of gardening is the beloved weed, I thought I should google some answers on how to avoid my infamous friend.

Here are six tips form a weeding pro I shall attempt to remain resolute in following this year. (Fine Gardening.com Six Tips for Effective Weed Control)

Let Sleeping Weeds Lie

Weeds are throughout your soil, the more you dig, the more weed seedlings your expose to future growth.

Mulch, Much, Mulch

What sunlight does not invigorate and stimulate, will not grow.

Weed When the Weeding Is Good

After a good drenching rain, grab your gloves and reward your garden with attention! Slicing weeds – below the surface- is better than pulling them.

Lope Off Their Heads

If you can’t keep up with the weeds, behead them before they see. (I think, this year, I will pretend I am King Henry VIII. It is reputed that he beheaded more than 72,000 people. That should make a dent in my garden!)

Mind the Gaps between Plants

Plant in masses rather than in polka-dots! Plant at least 25% closer for annuals than is recommended. You will have fewer weeds! And far more color!!!

Water Your Plants… Not the Weeds!

Spot watering not only saves water, it allows for a more managed weed growth. This takes more time, however!

Wow!!! I already feel better!



Written for The Daily Post: Tenacious. I have been having problems finding something of meaning to create an answer for the prompts this year. So I decided to strengthen and tighten my focus. My topics for the month of March are as follows:  (Monday) Teaching and Life; (Tuesday) Hobbies: Archaeology and Astronomy; (Wednesday) Fitness; (Thursday) Chores; (Friday) Writing; (Saturday) Hobbies: Music and Photography; and (Sunday) Hobbies: Gardening and Birdwatching.

2 thoughts on “King Henry VIII, I Am

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

