Music Can Heal

YouKnowWhat-HealingMusic-NovDec2011
http://www.enhancingcare.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/YouKnowWhat-HealingMusic-NovDec2011.jpg

I have always loved music.

As a four and five-year-old, I would sit in the very back of our church or an assembly and stand of the chairs leaning against the wall to listen and watch the musicians perform.

At an early age, quartet music… four-part-harmonies… were my favorite.

I (usually) waited with bated breath for the sing-alongs.

When they began, I was a fully-engaged participant!

(When I think about it now, I was probably proudly embarrassing to my parents.)

Often, I was called on stage to perform with the quartets.

As a youth, country music and old-time gospel was my passion. I was drawn to the weird and wacky songs- much to my parents chagrin.

In elementary and middle school, the group choirs were attention-getters for me.

In high school, I was sucked into musical theater.

My passion for four-part-harmonies never subsided. In high school, I was a standing member of seven different music groups. Jazz, to choreographed song-n-dance, choirs, youth ensembles, and three different gospel quartets. For some of them, I was a standing member. For others, I was a soloist for intermission.

My weekends were booked solid with tours and concerts.

In my senior year, I would miss parts of most Fridays at school because a group I was performing with was leaving early on a tour.

Now, in present-day life, there are few musical genres I do not enjoy.

Listening to a superb big-band, jazz ensemble, or an orchestra can be an enjoyable outing.

An evening out to be entertained by a well-orchestrated musical… a plus.

For my personal down-time, I now enjoy the classics of Mozart and Beethoven, well-practiced quartets, and many Christian artists. (Yes, I still have a small place in my heart for quirky country music.) 

Research says that listening to music can relieve pain, bring about a calming in stress-filled environments, lower blood pressures, bring relief to chronic headaches, boost immunity systems, and even bring a more leveling to seizure patients.

Music can assist in relieving tinnitus in older persons, raise the IQ and learning quotients in younger individuals, and improve memory performance and athletic performance.

I think, in my personal life, and in the research of many learned scholars, it can be agreed that Man was made for Music.



Written for The Daily Post: Heal. I have been having problems finding something of meaning to create an answer for the prompts this year. So I decided to strengthen and tighten my focus. My topics for the month of March are as follows:  (Monday) Teaching and Life; (Tuesday) Hobbies: Archaeology and Astronomy; (Wednesday) Fitness; (Thursday) Chores; (Friday) Writing; (Saturday) Hobbies: Music and Photography; and (Sunday) Hobbies: Gardening and Birdwatching.

One thought on “Music Can Heal

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

