I Am at the Cusp

Dig
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/wR1IjOVWI7Y/maxresdefault.jpg


I Am at the Cusp



Two of my favorite hobbies, the two in which my participation is the least active, are archaeology and astronomy.

ARCHAEOLOGY

There is an archaeology club near me- within twenty-five miles. They meet once a month. The club is very precise about their scheduled times and meeting places. On the evenings when I have joined them, I have always felt welcomed.

I love their study topics- almost all of them are about the local archaeological digs.

They even have open invites for participation by a novice.

THE PROBLEM: They stop meeting during the summer months. These are the months that I would be most available! I do not like to drive very far at night. Nor do I like to out late on school nights. Hence, I do not attend. SOLUTION: I could stay more touch with them and participate in the local happenings during the summers. They have trainings and study happenings. However, I am more wallflower than go-getter.

ASTRONOMY

There is an astronomy club near me- within thirty-five miles. Their meets are more sporadic. There are not as internet welcoming with their information. I have visited one of their introductory meetings. Being a wallflower did not assist me in actually meeting anyone.

I know very little about telescopes- not enough to enjoy one by myself. I do own one- but my skill level at its use- null and void. I do enjoy the app I have found for my phone that details the happenings in the sky! Binoculars are a great friend on many evenings.

THE PROBLEM: They do meet in the summer. But their meetings are very late- it has to be to gaze at the stars…. Duh! Moreover, the location of their meetings are awkward and unfamiliar for me to drive at night.

I am on the cusp of becoming a strategic learner in both of the organizations.

I hope that over the summer I am able to land and participate fully in one of them.



Written for The Daily Post: Cusp.  I have been having problems finding something of meaning to create an answer for the prompts this year. So I decided to strengthen and tighten my focus. My topics for the month of March are as follows:  (Monday) Teaching and Life; (Tuesday) Hobbies: Archaeology and Astronomy; (Wednesday) Fitness; (Thursday) Chores; (Friday) Writing; (Saturday) Hobbies: Music and Photography; and (Sunday) Hobbies: Gardening and Birdwatching. 

One thought on “I Am at the Cusp

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

