Royal Accolades

web1_pit_pit5_faa
http://psdispatch.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/web1_pit_pit5_faa.jpg


The game was tied at 7-7 and it was bottom of the fifth.

I was up to bat. It was my fifth attempt at the plate. My first four had all resulted in walks.

Me… earning a walk… was a piece of cake

At only 4’8”. I was the shortest person on the team (even though I was one of the oldest.)

Hence, my strike zone was almost impossible to find!

My mission, this time at the plate, was a sacrifice squeeze play.

We had a runner on third… possibly the winning run.

He was fast.

The coach knew I could get a walk… but the bases were empty-except for third.

A walk would do us no good.

I was to sacrifice bunt and run it out.

If I could sucker the other team into following me with the ball, my best friend (Ben) standing on third, would score.

The first pitch was way outside.

I waited.

The second pitch was right at me. I could have taken a hit on the hip an got on base, but then the runner on third would not have scored.

I squared for the third pitch. I was going to bunt this pitch even if I had to chase it down.

I made contact.

The bunt was successful.

It was a slow roll halfway between home plate and first base.

Perfect.

I sprinted with all I had toward first. Just as I touched the bag, the first-baseman touched me.

The base umpire signs out!

The visitor’s stands erupt in cheers.

I heard one voice above all the others from the home stands.

“YOU FOOL!” … “HE WAS SAFE” … “KILL THE UMPIRE!”

It was the voice of my mild-mannered, always sportsmanlike mother.

Written for The Daily Post: PurpleI have been having problems finding something of meaning to create an answer for the prompts this year. So I decided to strengthen and tighten my focus. My topics for the month of March are as follows:  (Monday) Teaching and Life; (Tuesday) Hobbies: Archaeology and Astronomy; (Wednesday) Fitness; (Thursday) Chores; (Friday) Writing; (Saturday) Hobbies: Music and Photography; and (Sunday) Hobbies: Gardening and Birdwatching. 

One thought on “Royal Accolades

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

