A Murmuration of Starlings

I have always enjoyed watching birds, but until spending some time with my eighty (plus)- year-old  father, I was not actually a bird watcher. Dad religiously fed the birds on our small farm each and every morning. He could even identify one blue jay from another and one sparrow from another. Not me.

Here is what is exciting to see, but you do not necessarily want it in your backyard:



Here are the birds that I most enjoy watching:


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


There were so many, I put them in two shows.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Birdwatching with Dad is one of my best memories.



Written for The Daily Post: March 12, 2017. MurmurationI have been having problems finding something of meaning to create an answer for the prompts this year. So I decided to strengthen and tighten my focus. My topics for the month of March are as follows:  (Monday) Teaching and Life; (Tuesday) Hobbies: Archaeology and Astronomy; (Wednesday) Fitness; (Thursday) Chores; (Friday) Writing; (Saturday) Hobbies: Music and Photography; and (Sunday) Hobbies: Gardening and Birdwatching.  

7 thoughts on “A Murmuration of Starlings

  1. That is truly poetry in motion. For a time an individual was in charge, then that responsibility was passed off to someone else who only took half with him. And it occurred at a moment’s notice. Fish do this as well. Your father and I are about the same age. I learned about flowers and trees from my grandfather. I learned about birds from my mother. She always watched for the first Robin. Thanks Roger

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My mother fed the birds everyday and I learned through her. Now I feed the birds and sit at my kitchen table with binoculars…not because they are far away, but I love all the variations in colors…each one is a piece of art.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

