Two Times a Moth

moth
http://www.100wordstory.org/

Two Times a Moth

I was drawn toward the light … the ecstasy before being charcoal-broiled by a Zapper.

I was sharp-tongued … quick-tempered.

Often, I could control it.

But in lockup for a five-and-a-half year sentence?

At four years, they started talking parole.

Was I interested?

I wasn’t stupid.  Of course, I was interested.

I crossed off another day.

I hadn’t started countdown until only fifty remained.

The weekly meetings with my next probation officer… encouraging.

He was obsessive with his reminders…

Three strikes.

Three strikes.

Had two already… I was being given grace.

A small light… But was I eternally a moth?

 

Written for 110 word story. Requirements: Create a 100 word story using the given photo prompt.

2 thoughts on “Two Times a Moth

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

