My Conundrum

 

My Conundrum

Puzzles are great… But that is not my conundrum.



This slideshow requires JavaScript.



I love writing flash fiction.

I love the thrill and the instantaneous self-satisfaction of clicking on the PUBLISH BUTTON and seeing something that I have given birth to for live on the web.

The conundrum….

I have ideas for short story/ young adult historical novels that I would like to write.

The novel is far more time intensive… the instant gratification is not there!

What do I do to bridge the gap?

This is far more of a cry for guidance than an answer to The Daily Post Blog.

Are there Three (or four or fifty-seven) Wise Men (or Women) that can bless me with their insights?

Written for The Daily Post: December 14, 2016. Conundrum

.

9 thoughts on “My Conundrum

  1. Write your flash fictions to publish here and each week write a few hundred words for a novel as well. That’s what I do. Well, that’s what I would do if I hadn’t unexpectedly become addicted to Elder Scrolls Online. And Netflix doesn’t watch itself, you know.
    I just write bits and bobs when I feel like it. I don’t like to feel pressured 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never could get anywhere near novel length though I had the ideas. It was always short stories for me. I just didn’t have the discipline when it came to writing anything that stretched beyond any loose definition of a short story (some would call my stories “long”). But hey, you know what you write best, right? Just write what’s inside you and you’ll be happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks… I am ‘trying to try’ new things to stretch my skills… but I can’t seem to get past the need for teh instant gratification of the publish button on wordpress. Does that get better?

      Like

  3. Completely empathize with your conundrum – in fact this is my problem too. I am not sure how to tackle this issue as well but I am trying to dedicate an hour each day to the non-instant gratification work hoping that sooner or later something substantial will accumulate. For as Earl Nightingale said “Never give up on a dream just because of the time it will take to accomplish it. The time will pass anyway.” Or as Anne Lammot’s ‘bird by bird’ wisdom 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

