The Hidden Quarter

Talking to Grandpa
C2C Journal

Reaching for my ear lope, Grandpa twisted me round and collared me under his armpit. “Lemme take a gander at you, boy.”

Didn’t matter if I’d seen him yesterday evening, or if it had been more than a week… same thing always happened.

At six, the twisting was horrendous. Finally, Cousin Jim told me to roll into the Grandpa’s pit.

Once I knew the drill… cooperation was less painful.

“Well, looky what I found.”  There was always a quarter stuck in my ear.

With a kiss on the forehead and swat my butt, I was safe for another day.



Written for Carrot Ranch Publications: 99 Word Flash Challenge.

3 thoughts on “The Hidden Quarter

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

