Just Like the Wisemen

photo-20161205154632306“What are you doing, Todd?”

“I’m getting ready to celebrate… You know, ‘Tis the Season.’”

“I know the season. It’s Christmas. So what’s with all the moving of the furniture, the folding table, Mom’s purple velveteen tablecloth, and the huge crystal ball from the yard?”

“I’m celebrating… A Christmas séance.”

“Christmas isn’t a time for séances, Todd.”

“Sure it is. The angels showed up all around the glowing head of the virgin.”

“Weren’t you listening to the children’s sermon at all, Todd?”

“Look at the tree. I could use the glow-in-the-dark ornaments for a great aura for the room.”

We both raced to the tree. I did not want Todd ruining our freshly decorated tree.

In my frustration, I grabbed an ornament and I clocked him up beside the head.

Ouch!” exclaimed Todd. “Wow! It’s working!”

“What do you mean?”

“Now I see stars… Just like the wisemen.”



Written for Flash Fiction for the Aspiring Writer. Requirements: Create a 100-150 word flash story using the photo prompt provided.

7 thoughts on “Just Like the Wisemen

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

