Vegetal



For me,  vegetables are an acquired taste. I am a lover of fruit.

Growing up, we had a large garden, but it was beans, corn, peas, limas, potatoes and tomatoes.  We planted cantaloupe and watermelon and a few beets and onions. No other vegetables existed.

Frankly, If I had to take a quiz on what many of the other vegetables even looked like, I know that I would not score 100%.

Vegetables, for me, fall into three categories..

  • Vegetables  I Love
  • Vegetables I Am Learning to Appreciate
  • Vegetables, I Wonder Why God Made This One?

               

Vegetables That I Love

  • Cantaloupe (Thought this one was a fruit!)
  • Corn (From the cob, or drenched in butter)
  • Green Beans (plus)
  • Lettuce (I’m not sure this is actually- by law- a food?)
  • Lima Beans
  • Tomatoes
  • Potatoes
  • Pumpkin (only in pies)
  • Peas
  • Sweet Potatoes (The way this one is fixed, it is really in the sugar group, not the vegetable group?)
  • Watermelon (Thought this one was a fruit, too!)

Vegetables I have yet to acquire a taste for… but probably should.

  • Acorn Squash (I have never eaten it on purpose.)
  • Asparagus (Would love to plant this one in the garden to sell!)
  • Beets (Loved them as a  kid, Don’t think I have had them for over 20 years?)
  • Butternut Squash
  • Carrots (In a salad… Beginning to try them with Ranch Dressing.)
  • Celery (In a salad… Beginning to try them as a snack as well?)
  • Cucumbers (Getting used to pickles) (Enjoy, a little bit on a salad)
  • Onions (Only as a seasoning)
  • Peppers (Only raw ones… the cooked ones… YUK!)
  • Radishes (In a salad)
  • Shallots (Only as a  seasoning)
  • Spinach (Only at Subway)
  • Summer Squash (I have never eaten it on purpose.)
  • Zucchini (I have never eaten it on purpose.)

Vegetables That Art Presently in the NO category… 

  • Artichoke
  • Broccoli
  • Brussel Sprouts
  • Cabbage
  • Cauliflower
  • Collards
  • Eggplant
  • Kale
  • Okra
  • Turnips


Written for The Daily Post: November 10, 2016. Vegetal

One thought on “Vegetal

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

