Learning

riLnxz6rT




I Am a Teacher.




Of course, I want my students to become master craftsmen in the arts of reading, writing, and mathematics. I will bust-my-bottom every single day so that each of them are successful.

But what is most important to me, for each and every student in my circle-of-influence to learn this year are…

the same skills that we all started learning in kindergarten.

  • Share everything.
  • Play fair.
  • Don’t hit people.
  • Put things back where you found them.
  • Clean up your own mess.
  • Don’t take things that aren’t yours.
  • Say you’re SORRY when you HURT somebody.
  • When you go out into the world, watch out for traffic, hold hands, and stick together.
  • Live a balanced life – learn some and drink some and draw some and paint some and sing and dance and play and work every day some.
  • If the dream is held close to the heart, and imagination is applied to what there is close at hand. Everything is still possible.

― Robert Fulghum, All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten

If my students begin to comprehend the world a little clearer because of the mastery of the art that I love, and I- in some small way- can continue to allow these ten truths to become planted a little deeper into their lives, then I will be allowed to boldly proclaim… “This Year, I Am a Teacher.”

Written for The Daily Post: The Art and Craft of Blogging: Learning

2 thoughts on “Learning

  1. When you retire. There’s going to be an awful big hole for somebody to fill. What bothers me. I’m afraid it won’t get filled, not to the capacity for results that you put into teaching. Bless you in your work, bless you in your retirement coming soon.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

