National Walk in a Park Day… March 30th

Garden_adventure_of_the_little_puppy_photos_pictures_puppy_MIL56001

Today is National Walk in the Park Day. There are several parks in my neighborhoods that have great walking/ hiking trails. But every now and then, I lack motivation. Here are a few words of wisdom for persons from every walk of life…

A Reason to Exercise … A Quote for All

For those who love Old Wives’ Tales and Proverbs:

“Old minds are like old horses; you must exercise them if you wish to keep them in working order.” John Adams

For those who are acutely intertwined with writing:

“Fantasy is an exercise bicycle for the mind. It might not take you anywhere, but it tones up the muscles that can. Of course, I could be wrong.” Terry Pratchett

For those seeking world domination:

“If a man achieves victory over this body, who in the world can exercise power over him? He who rules himself rules over the whole world.” Vinoba Bhave

For the true couch potato:

“If it weren’t for the fact that the TV set and the refrigerator are so far apart, some of us wouldn’t get any exercise at all.” Joey Adams

For the straight-shooters:

“I know what I have to do if I want to lose weight and stay healthy: eat a proper diet and exercise. All I’ve got to do is apply it.” John Candy

For those with a political outlook on life:

“Walking is the best possible exercise. Habituate yourself to walk very far.” Thomas Jefferson

For those looking for a little grace:

“Exercise to stimulate, not to annihilate. The world wasn’t formed in a day, and neither were we. Set small goals and build upon them.” Lee Haney

For those who just need to face the truth:

“Once in a while I’ll get moved to do some exercise. It’s something I long for but the biggest problem is bending down and putting my tennis shoes on. Once I go out I’m OK.” David Soul



Written for Reminiscing the Arts: March 30th. 

3 thoughts on “National Walk in a Park Day… March 30th

  1. I so wish I’d heard that today was Walk in the Park Day earlier! I don’t really need an excuse to get outside, but I love the idea that there’s an official *day* just for this activity! That puppy in the photo is too darn adorable, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

