National Weed Appreciation Day… March 28th

main_dandelion_th
http://www.tryvegannj.com


Shame on you… I know what you were thinking.

No… Not that kind of weed!

We’re talking…

  • Yallow … even though the yallow has beautifully-minute white flowers
  • The daisy weed … again, a lovely daisy flower on top
  • The creeping thistle… The pricks are awful, but the purple blossom is lovely! We like roses?
  • Ground ivy… It smells great when you mow it! We plant lavender for its smell on purpose?
  • Greater plantain… They have splendid towers of green seed pods
  • Selfheal… an irksome weed with a gorgeous purple flower
  • The creeping buttercup… aren’t buttercups a nice flower?
  • Sheep’s sorrel… with a fine pinkish-red seed pod tower
  • Common ragworts… a weed with intricate star-shaped flowers
  • The dandelion with its brilliant yellow buds stretching toward the sky
  • White clover… I thought that a four-leafer was to bring luck?

 

I wonder who decided what a proper flower was to be and what was to be discarded as a weed.

I guess it is another one of those “The Eye’s of the Beholder” things?



 

Written for Reminiscing the Arts: March 28th. 

10 thoughts on “National Weed Appreciation Day… March 28th

  1. There is no such thing as a weed in my eyes. If it fits in the garden, does not decide to take over and spread eveywhere pushing the others out, why not. I have a few that I let grow. My firebugs would be lost without the mallow and I make space for my nettle leave bellflower. Let them come, although I must admit dandelions want to move in on the earth space as well, so I keep an eye on them, as well as the buttercups.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All beautiful flowers. And yes the buttercup is a pretty flower, but at my cabin it is the one flower I have developed an irrational disliking for. I think it is because those underground runners try to crowd everything else out.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

