FRIENDS

University of Maine Cooperative Extension
University of Maine Cooperative Extension Shawn Kenny weeding Master Gardener demonstration garden at Oxford County Office

I truly love to do lawn work. Mowing was probably my favorite pastime as a kid. It wasn’t just the fact that I had a chance to ride the tractor to mow- I love to push mow. In fact, if I had the choice, I would only push mow with a push-reel mower.

In my last years of high school and my first years of college, I was in charge of 17-27 different properties to mow and mulch. I had a crew of three others- It was great! The only times that we were despondent about our jobs would have been after several days of rain. Everybody wanted their personal yards cared for — THAT VERY DAY!

Our crew of four became best friends over the three years we worked together.

I love gardening just as much, but I am not as skilled a gardener as I was a maintenance lawn keeper.

When there were several people living at home, keeping the lawn and the garden was a family affair.

Now that I am a loner, there are days that gardening chores and far more chore than pleasure.

Without a ‘friend’ to share the enjoyable tasks, one notices the drudgery of chore work far quicker.

One cannot lie in the afternoon sun enjoying the fresh smells of pulled weeds or bug dustings nearly as pleasurable as the smells of freshly cut grass- especially with just a hint of sage or mint.

Written for The Daily Post: March 21st.  Friend

5 thoughts on “FRIENDS

  1. “Without a ‘friend’ to share the enjoyable tasks, one notices the drudgery of chore work far quicker. This is so true….it’s more enjoyable to work with someone, especially if they enjoy that type of work as much as you do.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

