Geraldine’s Masterpiece

ffpp

public-domain-images-archive-free-stock-photos-4-1000x666

Geraldine was pushing the captain’s chair to the table when Ezra walked in. “What are you doing, Sis? Can I help you?”

“Nope. Got it.” She replied with a smile. “Come and see.”

Geraldine quickly grabbed Ezra’s hand and led him into the back bedroom hallway.

“Look! See?”

Ezra saw instantly what had happened.

“My… My… What have you done here?” He tried to maintain a calmness in his voice belaying the heavy palpitations of his heart.

Ezra walked to the end of the hall and cut on the light. “Let’s see what our budding artist has done with her new birthday paints?

“Another misterpiece,” Geraldine boldly proclaimed.

Ezra giggled, “Yes, indeed you have.”

Geraldine was beaming at her brother’s approval.

“Let’s clean up your misterpiece before Mother gets home.”

“This’n’s perm’nt.”

“No… We can fix this. Your paints are watercolors… With a little care, Mom will never have to know.”

“She will,” Geraldine seemed very certain.

“Why will she have to know?”

“Didn’t use my colors. Used your ‘nam’ls.”

“But why?”

Geraldine handed Ezra his business postcards that were being send out this weekend.

To Occupant

New Paint It Yourself Class

Call Now!

“I wanna be in your class.”




 

Written for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner. Requirements: The opening sentence for the March 18th Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner:  “This was the first time I had ever had to sign for a letter addressed to Occupant.” Please use this sentence (or this thought) somewhere in your flash. Create a flash fiction story using the photo prompt and only 200 words.

23 thoughts on “Geraldine’s Masterpiece

  1. Wow! Great job with this prompt – which, well, you know, what with the suggested line and the image, isn’t exactly an easy homer out of the park 😉 But you’ve done it. Great story …. and I like the “smart choice” of wanting to have something permanent, so switching of materials and tools! Well done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m still thinking on it ….. how much time is left?

        And don’t forget, not everyone wants to think on things too much … and it could be Spring Break or you know, Spring Fever, or for those in the southern hemisphere, Fall musings etc.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah… the writing is on the wall. 🙂
    I think though that if ‘Mom’ knows she’s got artists in the family she might not be all that upset.
    Was nice to read about siblings caring for each other. I liked that too.

    I just posted my piece. I’m not sure if I can do every week. But I like the duality of your challenge.
    Can we also combine other prompts with yours? Like word lists?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice spin on the prompt, Roger. The dialogue was very good and I liked the idea of little sis wanting to get her brother’s attention – to the extent she ruined the wall!
    I’ve been really enjoying the prompts- this was a toughy, but it inspired me to write a piece of flash I was really chuffed with, so you’ll find no complaints from me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

