Aborted Mission: FFftPP- Week #11

ffpp

 

trashcan

“Captain Terexal, I followed the coordinates, but this place…”

The Captain cut him off, “Aye, this place seems to be in the middle of nowhere. Are you…”

“I’m sure. I checked the triangular pairings myself… Twice… This is the place we’re supposed to be. “

“Time for reconnaissance. Our technicians were brilliant when they found we could camouflage our vessels by landing in these local receptacles. With all this empty space, we’ll have no problem relocating our craft.”

“There’s the down-side, Captain. With all this empty space…there’s no ground cover. We could be walking into a trap.”

“Well, we can’t just sit here. Down the ladder… Let’s see what’s here.

Six of them slowly lowered themselves onto the dark and lined ground.

“No life forms. Captain.”

“Wait…” It was Ensign Stabler. “Due south… An aircraft grouping swiftly approaching.”

“Retreat. Quickly, back up. Steady. Stay in formation.”

Just as they had reentered their spaceliner a swarm of pterodactyl-like creatures encircled the craft.

“What do we do, captain?”

“Lift-off. The mission’s been compromised.”

Upon liftoff, the crew saw another enemy inside the receptacle.

Soon there was mayhem… All out warfare.

Dragonflies encircled a swarm of helplessly trapped honeybees caught unaware… feasting upon leftovers from last evening’s festivities.



 

Written for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner.  Requirements: Create an under- 200 word flash fiction story using the photo prompt and the given sentence or phrase. The opening sentence for the March 11th Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner: For this week, please use the phrase… ‘but this is the middle of nowhere…” somewhere in your flash piece. 

22 thoughts on “Aborted Mission: FFftPP- Week #11

      1. I usually have a lot of bees and wasps around my home and I just ignore them. When I don’t bother them they don’t bother me. And, THAT is fine with me! Dragonflies are harmless. I’m not afraid of them at all. I was when I was much younger because they were so scary looking.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Roger, do you spend time in or around La Manzanilla? A friend of mine was surprised to see a comment by you on my blog as she sold a painting to someone named Roger Shipp and she wonders if you are one and the same. Her name is Carol Lopez…Judy

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I thought the possibility was remote. I’m so glad I kept my name and my husband’s, even though the hyphen has created many problems in the past. There are many Judy Browns and Judy Dykstras, even, but I’m the only Judy Dykstra-Brown that I’ve found. Helps when you are a writer and artist who wants to be defined by their work…No confusing mix-ups.

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

