CONNECTIONS

10-Ways-to-Forge-a-Deeper-Connection-with-Yourself1
http://www.doyouyoga.com

 

What are your connections to the world?

My parents were from families of twelve (and more) siblings. I am sure that on many evenings, there was a desire for a disconnect from family- too much of anything…

I am from a family of five (plus). We currently spend far more time involved in our own individual lives with our personal families than we do with each other. The traditional get-togethers are, of course, the exception.

But when I think of the person that I need to connect with the most… it is myself.

People know when you are a fraud or a phoney. (eventually, anyway…) Children catch on to the phoneys fast! I teach, so I try extremely hard every day to be true to myself. To do that, I have to know myself.

I like how Meister Eckhart states the problem…

A human being has so many skins inside, covering the depths of the heart. We know so many things, but we don’t know ourselves! Why, thirty or forty skins or hides, as thick and hard as an ox’s or bear’s, cover the soul. Go into your own ground and learn to know yourself there.

I think that these seven statements summarize me becoming connected to me.

  • For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something. Steve Jobs
  • So many times, people told me I can’t do this or can’t do that. My nature is that I don’t listen very well. I’m very determined, and I believe in myself. My parents brought me up that way. Thank God for that. I don’t let anything stand in my way. Chantal Sutherland
  • I like to challenge myself. I like to learn – so I like to try new things and try to keep growing. David Schwimmer
  • I’ve always considered myself to be just average talent and what I have is a ridiculous insane obsessiveness for practice and preparation. Will Smith
  • I prefer to be true to myself, even at the hazard of incurring the ridicule of others, rather than to be false, and to incur my own abhorrence. Frederick Douglass
  • I am a teacher. It’s how I define myself. A good teacher isn’t someone who gives the answers out to their kids but is understanding of needs and challenges and gives tools to help other people succeed. Justin Trudeau
  • I’m learning the power of going away for the weekend and keeping myself company. Zoe Saldana


Written for The Daily Post: March 5, 2016. Connection

4 thoughts on “CONNECTIONS

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

