Second Time Around

 

large_whitedragon
thelearningdm.com



Second Time Around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?




 

I love to fall in love with a distant world… To travel there… To learn its customs… To befriend it peoples.

For that to happen, I need a series- at least a trilogy. I cannot sit and reread a trilogy every year. Bu give me a 10-15 year waiting period, and I can fall for the new and mystical world as if it were my first read!

Here is a listing of some of the worlds that I have fallen for:

  • The World of Pern… Anne McCaffrey
  • John Jakes… The Kent Family Chronicles
  • J.R.R. Tolkien…The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit
  • Terry Pratchett…. Discworld
  • Robin Hobb… The Farseer
  • Terry Goodkind… The Sword of Truth
  • Lev Grossman … The Magicians
  • Brian Jacques … Redwall
  • Terry Brooks…. The Sword of Shannara
  • Isaac Asimov …. Foundations
  • Frank Herbert … Dune
  • I am sure that there are more!



 

Written for The Daily Post: February 5, 2106. Second Time Around

 

5 thoughts on “Second Time Around

  1. I once met Brian Jaques at a book signing. He’s fabulous as a writer and he spoke so well, addressing fans of all ages. Have you read Robert Jordan (Wheel of Time series) or and Brandon Sanderson books? Jordan is my favorite for reading distant worlds.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So I was scrolling through my reader and the hubs saw your picture and said, “What’s that post about?” He’s a hug Pern fan. I never got into the whole dragon riders thing. He even has that very picture as the cover of his phone.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

