Critical Eye

046eba2d-cb74-499c-af29-5e1fc8c3f9a3




Critical Eye

Write about the subject you usually blog about as if you were a music critic.




 

I had never heard of Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche, a renowned German philosopher, until I began to look up quotes about the mystical, treasure that music offers life.  He believed in “life-affirmation”. “Life-affirmation” is an honest questioning of everything. In his time period, Friedrich questioned the Christianity and the moral compass of the communities and world around him. He found friendships in people that were thought to be on the sinful fringes of the righteous and up-right world: pets, dancers, painters, novelists, actors, sculptors, and social revolutionaries would call him a friend.

I love his beliefs about music.

“Without music, life would be a mistake.”

“And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.”

“We should consider every day lost on which we have not danced at least once.”

― Friedrich Nietzsche

I am also an admirer of Nick Hornby’s words…

“People worry about kids playing with guns, and teenagers watching violent videos; we are scared that some sort of culture of violence will take them over. Nobody worries about kids listening to thousands – literally thousands – of songs about broken hearts and rejection and pain and misery and loss.”

I believe that there is an innate power in the words we speak. I do not guard the words from my mouth as carefully as I should. Of all the 15-day resolutions I have made… This premise I should take far more seriously!




 

Written for The Daily Post: February 6, 2016. Critical Eye

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

