BROKEN PROMISES

black dogBROKEN PROMISES

“For the thousandth time, I promise you, it wasn’t me!”

“Broken promises about my ring. This ring wasn’t your great-grandmothers’. It came from Jiffy Truck Express on Route 78.”

“My great-grandmother never married. I had to lie.”

“Broken promises about my new appliances. Lost our savings at the horse track.”

“It was a sure thing. Betsy Calhoun was at 60-1 odds. Two different jockeys told me I was in for a killin’.”

“Last year… We had even made the down-payment of the station wagon. All six kids would have individual seats. But noooooo…. You drove in with that two-door coupe.”

“It had great resale value. It was a gem of a car. If I wouldn’t have taken that deal, I would have regretted it forever.”

“Three days after you purchased it, it died on I-95. The engine block had been cemented together. It was a grand deal … for that snake of a car salesman.”

“But honey, I didn’t bring it home. It followed me.”

“You know we can’t afford to feed a dog. “

“But look at the kids. They are all out in the yard playing fetch with Cold Train.”

“Cold Train? How do you know the name of a dog that just followed you home?”

He was silent.



 

Written for Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner: Requirements: Create a 200 word flash fiction story using the provided photo and the opening sentence. The opening sentence for the February 12th, Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner: “……. For the thousandth time, I promise you, it wasn’t me!” (Permission for this NOT be the opening sentence, but only a sentence included somewhere in your story….granted.)

7 thoughts on “BROKEN PROMISES

  1. Great story. Seems like this guy is not very good with his family’s finances. At least his kids have a dog to play with. It’s kind of a bright spot in all his other bad plans. I confess, I forgot about the sentence. I’ll have remember next week 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

