A Personal Wormhole for Daily Travel

World’s Best Widget: A Personal Wormhole for Daily Travel

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You’ve been granted magical engineering skills, but you can only use them to build one gadget or machine. What do you build?



 

If I could magically engineer a machine for granting me a special skill, I would create a wormhole to travel to different places on our own planet.

My planet of choice today would be Australia!

Australia has so many animal that I would love to see in their native habitats. It also has many natural, cultural, and commercial places that I would like to experience.

Since I have perfected this beautiful time machine… Australia will be my weekend destination for vacation relaxation for the next five years. Then I will begin that tour of another continent.

  • There are more than 100 different animals I want to see in their native habitats. Exploring the stunning caves of the Margaret River region, driving by the 12 Apostles, hiking through the eucalyptus forests of the Blue Mountains in New South Wales, a snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef off the coast of Queensland to see the incredible sea life would fill up several weekends.
  • Traversing the continent by rail on The Ghan, a three-day journey from Darwin to Adelaide- what a grand time to have. I LOVE TRAINS!
  • A journey to the remote outback town of Birdsville for its annual horse racing and a day perfecting my lawn bowling game at the Clovelly Bowling Club near Sydney would be exciting. Here in the States, I take my croquet and my horseshoe competitions very seriously! And then to catch the British and Irish Lions rugby tour in Sydney in June and July 2013 — it only comes to Australia once every 12 years… Another spot that I can learn about!
  • To roll the dice at Crown Perth, and to see an opera at the Sydney Opera House would be a great way to close out the evenings.
  • Of course, my number one reason to visit Australia would be to see the Australian Open. I have watched teh Open on television – following my favorite heros- for the last 20 years.



Written for The Daily Post: February 16, 2016. World’s Best Widget

5 thoughts on “A Personal Wormhole for Daily Travel

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

