Come On, Mate… It’s Just a Game of Horseshoes

Donnie_at_horseshoes
http://www.wikiwand.com



Come On, Mate… It’s Just a Game of Horseshoes




No longer does my three-point-stance turn beautifully into a fallaway three-pointer with the deadly swoosh. Gone … the days of a perfect toss of the ball forcefully spiked across the net for a ‘40-Love’.

Life has always been an awkwardness of mixed metaphors.

My youth-filled ‘wild side’ … sneaking past my parents’ bedroom… absconding my 8:30 curfew.

Curses! The unwitting savior of the plain’s buffalo has me in death’s throes.

My six-by-six havens are being ravaged by this obnoxious, impossible-to-kill Sledgehammer grass.

Perfect twirls and dead-on ringers are being accosted by awkward entanglements.

This unspeakable horror will not be my Waterloo.


 

(Sorry, this one went a little weird?)




 

Written for The Carrot Ranch Flash Fiction Challenge: Requirements: February 10, 2016 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story about wild spaces. Is it a wilderness or a patch of weeds in a vacant lot that attract songbirds. What is vital to the human psyche about wild spaces? Bonus points for inducing something cute and furry.

4 thoughts on “Come On, Mate… It’s Just a Game of Horseshoes

  1. Ha, ha! Someone takes horseshoes seriously! That’s a wild take on the prompt. 🙂

    Somehow I was no longer following your blog. I thought maybe you were taking a break! Geoff said WP bumped him off my blog, too. Not sure what’s up with WP, but I re-followed and sorry for missing out over here. I always enjoy reading your stories but rely on my feed to know when they are posted.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I had been off the blog for two weeks except for my challenge. Life got in the way of writing??? But I hope to be more consistent again. I wasn’t sure about the direction of this writing… it went more mental than storyboard?

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

