TEEN AGE IDOL

2014 Australian Open - Day 12
(Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)



Teen Age Idol




Who did you idolize as a teenager? Did you go crazy for the Beatles? Ga-ga over Duran Duran? In love with Justin Bieber? Did you think Elvis was the livin’ end?




 

Who did I idolize as a kid… as a teen …

The person I probably tried to emulate the most- it is sad to say- was Arthur Fonarilli (from Happy Days). Happy Days was my favorite television show… and The Fonz was my favorite character.

If you have followed my blog at all…. you know music was a great passion. The Eagles, Paul McCartney and Wings, Chicago, The Beach Boys, Barry Manilow, and Jim Croce would have all been singers and songwriters I would try to mirror.

Baseball and basketball were my seasonal sports of passion, but tennis was the sport that I enjoyed playing the most. Johnny Bench, Willie Stargell, Tom Seaver, Mohammad Ali, Richard Petty, Larry Bird, and Boris Becker would have been the athletes that I idolized.

(Who am I kidding… I still have players I idolize now!)

Now… Rafael Nadal and I are aging together. He can still play and contend in the majors… but for every one of his loses… I feel the pain! (I had a baseball idol.. Chipper Jones… but he has retired.) 

I might be too old to be as passionate to reach the level of ‘idolize’ once Nadal retires?



 

Written for The Daily Post. January 11, 2016. Teen Age Idol

4 thoughts on “TEEN AGE IDOL

  1. I was in love with Donny Osmond! IN LOVE! I had his posters all over my room, owned his albums that I played until they warped and kissed him in my dreams. He was beautiful.. (still is) and I would STILL marry him! well.. maybe! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

