FROM FATHER TO SON

lions
https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/



FROM FATHER TO SON




It was long past midnight when they came to my stable’s chamber. “Your father has passed,” was all they said.

I dressed quickly. I was not unaware of the magnitude of this late summons.

The five of us walked purposefully through the outer gates and into the forest keep. I had hunted these paths as a youth, but tonight… the trails were ablur.

Spying a fire through the underbrush, we quickened our pace. There were voices- several of which I recognized.

“Halt!”

We abruptly stopped.

“Enter.”

Standing near the fire… It was him. I had told father that I had seen him. Merlin, the Merlin of lore. He was here.

“You are your father’s son.” His eyes were staring deep into mine.

“Yes.”

“You know the depth of your answer.”

I nodded.

“Your father is now a guardian of the castle walls.”

I nodded again. I knew the tales. Father had told them to me as a child.

“You are the one. You are called to be the King’s Hand.”

I knelt.

The world went askew.

That was all I remembered. I awakened in the King’s chamber. I was lounging on His chase. He was being served his morning meal.

“I hope you found the night refreshing. The morning is new, my Lion’s Hand.”

I knelt again.



 

Written for Sunday Photo Fictioners. Requirements: Using the photo prompt, create a 200 word piece of flash fiction. (A late entry!)

2 thoughts on “FROM FATHER TO SON

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

