ONE SMART SANTA

135-12-december-20th-2015
https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/



ONE SMART SANTA




“Have you been a good girl, Amelia?”

“What a silly question, Santa.”

“Why, my dear?

“Because of the song.”

“The song?”

“He sees you when you’re sleeping. He knows when you’re awake. He knows if you’ve been bad or good…  So be good for goodness sake.”

“Would you like to sit on my knee, Amelia, and tell me what you want for Christmas?”

“A few questions first, Santa?”

“Of course. What would you like to ask?”

Amelia takes out a tiny notebook and reads. “Who plays the maracas when your sled flies?”

“The maracas?”

“Santa… the ‘click, click, click’’

“Oh….That’s’ the sound of reindeer running. The tendons of their feet stretch and make that sound.”

“I see,” Amelia seemed quite pleased with the answer. “Question number two. Reindeer shed their antlers in the winter. Why do all these reindeer still have their antlers?”

“That’s an easy one, Amelia. Reindeer migrate. My tiny reindeer are from the Norwegian archipelago of Svalbard. This is where the tiny reindeer live. Because of migration patterns, they are the last to lose their antlers.”

Amelia smiled. “You just answered my third question, too. Seven reindeer and a sleigh weigh too much for most rooftops…. But not seven tiny reindeer.”

Turning to the next page of her notebook, Amelia hopped up on Santa’s knee and began reading from her neatly composed Christmas list.



 

Written for Sunday Photo Fictioner. Requirements: Using the photo prompt, create a 200 word story. (Sorry, I went over a few words. Shortening this one was difficult.)

5 thoughts on “ONE SMART SANTA

  1. I think shortening it would have destroyed the story. I like it. Clever girl, and a clever Santa too 🙂

    Thanks for posting this, I was about to go to bed and when I saw this, it reminded me that I hadn’t done this weeks yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I try to stay within the bounds… sometimes, I have a good idea, so I just let the challenge lapse, and then post afterwards. I went for it this week. I was fairly close to the word cont. Plus, it did seem like a quick read. Thanks for the read!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

