An Interview with My Life-Long Friend

An Interview with My Life-Long Friend

teddybear_pirate_square_sticker-ra196663ad58f45029a3b64c267ab37da_v9wf3_8byvr_324
http://www.zazzle.com



“Christmas morning, 1962.”

“He guarded on the outside edge of the bed. Kept the boogie-man from reaching up with his long arms to snatch me away.”

“Like a charm… El Coco never got me.”

“Yes, many different outfits. He was born wearing a motley, blue-checkered coat offsetting his golden fur.”

“Mom and I placed him in my overhauls. Pudgy graduated to guard duty to the corner of the piano.”

“About your age?”

“His eye? It was just lost through the years.”

The next day an envelope was on my desk.

     To Pudgy.

Your New Freend.  

Inside … an eyepatch.


 

(This one is a true story.)



 

Written for The Carrot Ranch Flash Fiction Challenge. Requirements: December 2, 2015 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a pirate story. It can be about pirates or piracy; modern or of yore. Swashbuckling, parrots and rum can be involved or maybe you’ll invent details beyond standard pirates.

2 thoughts on “An Interview with My Life-Long Friend

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

