HUMBLE PIE

rhubarb-pie2015
http://www.dishmaps.com


HUMBLE PIE

DAILY PROMPT



Tell us about a time you found out after the fact that you’d been mistaken and you had to eat a serving of humble pie.



 

I love pie. It is my favorite dessert. (The only thing better than pie would be pie topped with vanilla ice-cream.)

I have never liked the taste of humble pie. Even served warm, I find it is lacking in so many areas.

I am such a pie aficionado, that I decided to Google the topic. I found The Definitive List of All-Time Great Pies. I was surprised to see how I faired against the most august pie-connoisseurs in the world.

I was disappointed that the list allowed pies-that-all-pies-in-name only to be included in the Top 20.

  • Chicken Pot Pie
  • Grasshopper Pie
  • Sweet Potato Pie
  • Crack Pie
  • Grape Pie
  • Chess Pie

These are just silly to have on the list. There might be a craving for one of these pies once a year. But the craving would pass before the first slice of this pie has passed your lips. There is no way that these pies should be revered and honored. Besides- Chicken Pot Pie breaks all the rules of a true pie!

At Pie #14 the list begins to get creative for fulfilling the needs on a pastry connoisseur. These 143 pies could be mixed and matched for all eternity, add a little extra cream her, a little tab of chocolate there, drop a dollop of vanilla ice cream on top…. heaven!

  • Blackberry Pie
  • Lemon Meringue Pie
  • Peanut Butter Pie
  • Banana Cream Pie
  • Key Lime Pie
  • Coconut Crème Pie
  • Apple Pie
  • Pumpkin Pie
  • Chocolate Crème Pie
  • Blueberry Pie
  • Pecan Pie
  • Cherry Pie
  • Peach Pie
  • Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

I was going to tickle your taste-buds with the descriptions of my on personal Top 5, but I am presently picking up my car keys to go to the local bakery.

The compulsion to keep three exquisitely delicious pies in the house has suddenly become overwhelming.

I am thinking of Strawberry Rhubarb, Cherry, and Pecan… Oh, it is essential to have a Blackberry! I can’t believe the simple Cheese Cake did not make the list… with freshly picked and sugared strawberries! That is a must!

Five, instead of three… Math never was my favorite subject.

There might be more to this post later.

I will be careful to keep the crust crumbs from the computer keys.



 

Written for The Daily Post. November 28. 2015.

7 thoughts on “HUMBLE PIE

  1. Yum. I rarely get to have pie. I live in India and pie just isn’t that high up on our menu in either cafes or restaurants or even in homes. Some specialty places have them but they are ofcourse expensive.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

