EVERYTHING CHANGES

Stone Wall
http://www.wayfair.com

Everything Changes




DAILY PROMPT




Walking down the street, you encounter a folded piece of paper on the sidewalk. You pick it up and read it and immediately, your life has changed. Describe this experience.

 




After awakening to the soothing sounds of my new techno-alarm and a brisk shower, I donned my jogging paraphernalia and began my morning run- two miles to the city’s summit and two miles back.

This was my beginning of every Saturday sunrise-  a routine that I cherished in all kinds of weather.

The sunrise was exquisite as I paused for a quick drink before beginning the descent. Turning to resume the trek back, I noticed a tri-fold lime green paper stuck in the porous mortar of the retaining wall.

Curiosity getting the best of me, I stepped toward the wall and retrieved the paper. It was still crisply folded. It had to have been placed in the mortar this morning. We had torrents of rain during the night. The paper was only slightly moist.

Unfolding the paper, I discovered it was a check. It had been already endorsed: CASH.

Without hesitation, my eyes went to the right to see the amount: $1,700,000.

I was in shock.

I quickly glanced the upper right corner to see who had made such a careless blunder. Mark Zuckerberg… in neat italics.

Remembering the news broadcast from the previous night, Chairman of Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg, had announced that he and his wife were donating $45 Billion dollars to charity. Was this one of the ways he was planning to parcel out his generosity?

Needless to say, I made record time getting back to city limits.

One quick visit to the bank… verification and authorization… and my world was going to suddenly look very different!




 

Written for The Daily Post. December 4, 2015.

2 thoughts on “EVERYTHING CHANGES

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

