OUTSIDE LOOKING IN

Skills, Knowledge, Abilities
Skills, Knowledge, Abilities




The Outsiders




Tell us about the experience of being outside, looking in — however you’d like to interpret that.





I often feel like I am outside looking in.

Watching my students interact with undiscovered knowledge. I know that I am the one who began the process of investigating the new concepts, but I am always amazed at the inter-connections that are made as an unfamiliar concept begins to take shape.

Watching a mechanic work on my car. I am one of those people that make the car sounds to explain what is wrong with my vehicle. Thank goodness, I have almost always had a trusted hearing interpreter for a mechanic!

Watching a virtuoso at the piano. I had a great love for learning to play the piano before I fell in love with baseball. The skills were not there for me to have a future in either!

Watching a great athlete press on to complete an accomplishment never before mastered. I am more of a team player in sports. I love to compete. But the ability to compete is enough. I did not have the passion needed to pursue becoming a Number One at any sport.

I guess I love watching “A MASTER” at almost anything.

I am far more of a scatter-shot purist.

I have many loves.

Narrowing life down to only allow for one never seemed to be an option for me.



 

Written for The Daily Post: November 18, 2015.

2 thoughts on “OUTSIDE LOOKING IN

  1. I am with you. I enjoy anyone doing what they do well and without an excess of unnecessary movement. From typing to carving a turkey to making jewelry to washing dishes…I draw the line at surgery, however. Can’t take the blood!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

