THE INEPT HUSBAND

https://mondaysfinishthestory.wordpress.com/
https://mondaysfinishthestory.wordpress.com/


THE INEPT HUSBAND



“Now this is the life of Riley.” I said as I looked at our kitten.

“If that is the life you want, it’s yours!”

I wasn’t sure if she was being snippy or serious, but I took the chance.

“Agreed.”

She pointed to the sofa… “I’ll place your tray by the TV when supper is ready.”

Now, I was even more confused. Sarah had been hard to read while we were dating. Nowadays, impossible.

***

Supper … true to her word: Spaghetti and meatballs, garlic bread, my favorite beer.

But there was an ominous air in the room?

I fell asleep to Sports Center.

***

She was there in the morning with my breakfast.

“Is this what you want?” She sat on the edge of the armchair. Her eyes were ablaze???

“Talk to me,” I said. “You know I am not good at this feeling thing.”

“I’m pregnant.”

“Honey.”

Both of us were suddenly brimming with tears.



Written for Monday’s Finish That Story: Requirements: Create a 100-150 words flash fiction story using the photo prompt and the included first line… “Now this is the life of Riley.” (LATE! This one was not entered!)

2 thoughts on “THE INEPT HUSBAND

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

