OUT OF YOUR REACH

s-l500 erector set



Out of Your Reach



Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.



When I was younger, life was good.

At least as far as I knew, life was good.

It was the only life I knew.

I had friends in many circles of society. I knew kids that had fewer things than I had. I knew kids that had many more things than I had.

I had what I needed.

Life was good.

I was fine.

The weeks preceding the winter holidays- then, it would have been after Halloween- my sister and I would each take turns going to the mailbox awaiting the Christmas catalogs.

We would then spend hours, carefully thumbing through the pages of the books in search of presents that we wanted to put on put Christmas lists.

One present that always made it on my list of possible Christmas presents was an erector set. Each year, erector sets were designed monumentally better and better… also, each year they became more and more expensive.

An erector set was never in the top four or five presents, but it was probably always in the top twenty?

I loved sports… so new sporting equipment was often on the list.

I loved picking out my own clothes… so particular shirts were listed. (I only wore blue jeans. No need to list them!)

I was an avid reader… books were always on the list.

From the list that I would create each years, I suspect I received six or seven of my top ten items every year. I really don’t know how my parents pulled it off some years, but Christmas morning was always a great event.

Baseballs, and bats, and gloves, and particular shirts, and puzzles… and board games, and card games… and books.

I don’t think I ever felt I was in lack.

The missing erector set… never truly missed.



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Out of Your Reach.”

2 thoughts on “OUT OF YOUR REACH

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

