A TRUE SAINT

genius.com
genius.com



A True Saint




In 300 years, if you were to be named the patron saint of X, what would you like X to be? Places, activities, objects — all are fair game.




In 300 years, if I were to be named a patron saint, I hope that I would be named the Patron Saint of the Wanna-be-Jock.

I have had a love affair with different sports since early childhood.  But starting to school at an earlier age than my peers- and my growth spurts not setting in until a later age than the rest of the world- jockhood status was not a goal to which I found myself with abilities to achieve. That did not stop me from enjoying sports.

As a boy, Baseball Was King! But being a great deal smaller than my counterparts, I found far more success in kickball, dodgeball, and four-square. If any of those three sports would have been Olympic sports, step aside… The gold medal would have been mine!

Once in college, and my growth spurts finally caught up with my skills, I found myself enjoying basketball and tennis. I found an inordinate amount of pleasure in pick-up games with fellow ruffians: often the amateurs had sufficient abilities to school the professionals.

Yes, I suspect pride would often rear its ugly head. Thank goodness my mother had drilled into my heart the grace of sportsmanship…. I believe that usually my celebrations of victorious trouncing were usually kept silent until my group of misfits were safely in our vehicles driving home. I am sure and errant high five, was present… but that was received with good nature.

I will not be holding my breath for the designation of Patron Saint… There does seem to be a great deal of pridefulness in the life of this Saint Designee…. I suspect that ‘Saints’ are supposed to be a tad bit more humble?



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “A True Saint.”

One thought on “A TRUE SAINT

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

