HOW QUICKLY PLANS CAN CHANGE

www.jdtreeservice.net
http://www.jdtreeservice.net


HOW QUICKLY PLANS CAN CHANGE



“Is he still alive?” I jabbed at his inert body laying at teh foot of the tree with a limb that had fallen  as he had descended.

“I don’t know. What did you call me for? I can’t stand to look at a person with a nosebleed.”

“You were the first person I thought of for help.”

“You could have called the rescue squad?”

“Well, you’re here now. You could have called the squad?”

“OK. OK. I want he gone as much as you. But what are we going to do with the body?”

“Let’s use the ladder he used to climb the tree. I told him not to go up there and trim the tree lines by himself. He’s such a cheapskate.”

“He was a cheapskate.”

“If we haul him to the river, gators will get him before I even have to call him in as missing.”

“I guess this will be you last labor of love?”

“That’s not funny. I didn’t plan for him to fall from the tree while he was trimming around the lines.”

“Mighty convenient, though.”

“Just shut it as we use this ladder as a makeshift stretcher. The neighbor’s kids will be home soon. We have to get the power tools put pack if we are going to get away with this.”

Just as they reach under her husband’s arms to roll him onto the ladder, a voice comes around the back corner of the house.  “Hey, Uncle Alfred. Mom. Dad called me at the dorm. He said he needed some help in the back yard. Have you seen him? I was going to help him trim the trees.”

And then they heard a moan from the ladder.



Written for Three Word Wednesdays: Week 450.  Requirements: Use the three required word in a piece of flash fiction.

Jab, verb: poke (someone or something) roughly or quickly, especially with something sharp or pointed; poke someone or something roughly or quickly with (a sharp or pointed object or a part of the body); noun: a quick, sharp blow, especially with the fist, a sharp painful sensation or feeling.

Labored, adjective: done with great effort and difficulty, (especially of humor or a performance) not spontaneous or fluent.

Makeshift, adjective: serving as a temporary substitute; sufficient for the time being; noun: a temporary substitute or device.

10 thoughts on “HOW QUICKLY PLANS CAN CHANGE

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.