THE MISSING

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham
© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham



THE MISSING




Not knowing what to expect, he made his way into the dark of the forest.

This was where his father went missing seven years ago.

My mother, still distraught, came to this same park five years ago. She was reported missing the next morning.

My older sister and her husband could not reconcile the coincidences. They came to the park three years ago.

I have been the guardian for their four children since that day.

On all three occasions, I had been locked in my office; my desk piled high with memos, private investigative reports, and other business accountings.

It had been a fluke- on all three occasions- that I had sent my secretary home. I was planning to stay late. There was no reason for me to pay my secretary overtime.

The police reluctantly accepted my justification for having no alibi. But after the life insurance policy surfaced on my sister and her husband, the whispers and innuendoes had become more than I could bear.

I had to see for myself….



Written for Monday’s Finish That Story: Requirements: Using the photo prompt create a flash fiction story of under 150 words. Your story must begin with the following first sentence: “Not knowing what to expect, he made his way into the dark of the forest.” 

13 thoughts on “THE MISSING

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

