Express Yourself!

www.katyanovablog.com
http://www.katyanovablog.com


Express Yourself!



Do you love to dance, sing, write, sculpt, paint, or debate? What’s your favorite way to express yourself, creatively?



I am a very expressive person. I love to read aloud to my classes. I love the dramatics of a great dialogue in good writing!

So…. How do I express myself?

Dancing… If you had ever been around me when I was younger and I had to learn the routines for the dances in our musicals…. You would have felt VERY SORRY for my chorographer. If there was a condition that could afflict a young man that was worse than “two left feet”… I had it.

Singing… I did (and still do) love to sing. My parents tell me of times in our country churches that we would go as a family to see the local and regional quartets sing… I would be on the back row standing. I was very short as a child. I would be there just-a belting out the words on all the sing-a-longs. Sometimes, on some of the songs that were not sing-a-longs?

Writing… As a child- up till fourth grade- I loved to write. Then, it became a chore. I have recently decided to pick it up again….

Sculpture… I love throwing clay… (This is not the clay that you place on wheels to construct beautiful pottery … or a magnificent ceramic ornament…. No. I love to throw clay…. Like at barns… and posts…. And thistle heads… and stray cats…) you get the point.

Painting … I love museums… I enjoy the fine paintings and sculptures. But the limit of my skill at producing them would be to make targets for shooting competitions. That would be fun?

Debate… If this is seen as arguing to win… As a teen, I loved it!

So …. How do I express myself now?

I think I use some of my writings for self-expression.

I still enjoy a great song in the shower- much to the chagrin of my Shih Tzu pup.

But I suspect the way I most like to express myself now… that would be conversations.



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Express Yourself!.”

One thought on “Express Yourself!

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

