A ‘FRESH’ NEW LIFE AWAITS

Photo Prompt: Sonya, author of the blog, “Only 100 Words.”  https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/
Photo Prompt: Sonya, author of the blog, “Only 100 Words.”
https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/


A ‘FRESH’ NEW LIFE AWAITS



Dear Margaret,

      I thought that I would see you before I set off, but as I have apparently overslept, I thought that I would just drop you a quick good-bye.

     It was great seeing you again. I do believe there’s still a chance for us.

     I’ll call as soon as I disembark.

                XOXOXO.

                                Alfred


He paused to give the room one more cursory glance. Everything looked in its place. Alfred carefully double-tied the large trash bag, opened the kitchen door and chucked it in the bin.

The three suitcases were packed.

There was a faint smell of Arm-a-Hammer in the air… What did you expect? It took 53 boxes of the stuff to pack the remains.

Three suitcases – a must. Any less and the purser would ask questions about their weight.

She should have signed the divorce documents.

It was really her fault. That pre-nup.

Now, it didn’t matter. In seven years, the missing are declared dead.

I can wait.

“Goodbye, Margaret.”

Picking up the bags, they began heading downstairs to the awaiting taxi.



Written for Flash FIctions for Aspiring Writers. Requirements: Create a 175 (or less) flash story using the photo prompt.

19 thoughts on “A ‘FRESH’ NEW LIFE AWAITS

  1. Oh my gosh, creepy! Creepy good! She should have signed those divorce papers. Haha! Now she is all cut up and in 3 different suitcases. But then, within seven years, the police could catch up with the killer. Great story Roger!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

