Papa Loves Country

www.clipartpanda.com
http://www.clipartpanda.com


Papa Loves Country  



What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?



Music was an intricate part of my life growing up.

The radio was on all the time.

The news was a necessary part of our breakfast times and supper times. Since we were farmers that made sense.

Once the news was over… country music.

  • The Happiest Girl in the Whole USA… My sister and I would ‘shout” girl or boy to each other as we sang that one.
  • Big Bad John
  • Please Help Me, I’m Falling in Love Again
  • No Charge
  • There Goes My Everything
  • Oh Lonesome Me
  • Coat of Many Colors
  • Skip a Rope
  • Help Me Make It through the Night

(Some early ones that I still remember?)

I am not sure if listening to these songs had much effect on my musical taste?

I love almost all kinds of music!

But it did give me a right-strong hillbilly accent!

When I went to college, my freshmen year for English Grammars class, my teacher bluntly asked me, “Is you accent for real?”

Until then, I really didn’t know that I even had an accent!

I thought other people talked kinda funny!!!



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Papa Loves Mambo.”

3 thoughts on “Papa Loves Country

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

