Immortalized in Stone

www.geneamusings.com
http://www.geneamusings.com


Immortalized in Stone



Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?



My legacy…

When I leave this world, what have I left behind?

I suspect it will not be an inheritance of monies and properties over which my heirs can quibble and haggle. I am a teacher. I teach middle school. (Not a profession that the young- or old- seek wealth and die rich.) There are professions I could have chosen that would have produced such an inheritance, but as I pursued them I found personal realms an emptiness… an unfulfilled life.

I hope to leave the world financially balanced with enough left over for the one’s I love (that remain) might embark more easily on a dream, that they have yet left unfulfilled.

I am not sure that I will leave behind many photographs of gatherings, commencements, and honorariums. I do not like hard-copy visual memories.

As a budding author, I hope a few of my internal yarns of important moments in history have made it to print. But I will be OK if that never happens. I enjoy the comradery of my writing community.

What I hope to have left in this world are numerous, daily, grace-filled memories of the meticulous junctures … momentous intersections in life that I hope will have positively affected the lives of those to whom I have chosen to invest my life.

If that is true… that is “Statue” enough.



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Immortalized in Stone.”

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

