FINAL ULTIMATUM

PHOTO PROMPT – © Marie Gail Stratford https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/
PHOTO PROMPT – © Marie Gail Stratford
https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

Email.

I couldn’t believe it would end this way.

We had been together seven years…

She was now a nurse. That was her dream.

I was still full-time; the same temp agency that I was at when we met.

I needed time to pursue mine. I wanted to write.

I knew I had to reply.

The final ultimatum.

She was tired of me frivolously pursuing my selfish desires… Her father had a job for me.

We would have the money available for the things we needed…

Things she wanted… I was fine the way things were.

Click… Sent… my response.



Written for Friday Fictioneers. Requirements: Create a 100 word flash using the photo prompt.

10 thoughts on “FINAL ULTIMATUM

  1. Ah, the frivolity of pursuing your dreams…an unfair but not unrealistic result one might say. I applaud the decision to chase his desires, but wonder if perhaps face to face might be more appropriate for ultimatums and their responses.

    Well done.

    (FYI – I think you have a typo – “I knew I had to rely” is missing the P and should be “I knew I had to reply”)
    KT

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

