LAZY LEARNERS

giphy.com
giphy.comLazy Learners


LAZY  LEARNER



Is there something you’ve always wanted to learn but haven’t gotten around to? What is it and what’s stopping you from mastering the skill?



I have always wanted to speak several foreign languages. I even have purchased the Rosetta Stone Classes for Spanish and German… but I have not taken the time to achieve mastery of either of the languages.


At our local- even though it is famous all along the East Coast- book fair, has foreign language CD’s for self-teaching. I begin to listen to them…. then I lose interest.


I am a person that has to have a hands-on reason to learn something. I need a reason for mastery. If I had a real-life German Pinocchio as a next door neighbor… I bet I would desire to master the language in months! But for this far off dream/ desire… I have other things that constantly invade my time and take over my passions.


I wish I could speak Spanish… I love enjoying soccer. There are Spanish-membered leagues in my area… the soccer is high-level soccer. But I don’t’ go see the games. I would be an outsider.


I have a young man I mentored for a short while that resides in Germany. I would love to be a common part of his life and communicate with ease.


I love the architecture of Japan. Speaking Japanese would be such a plus for a self-guided tour.


I have friends from China…Speaking Chinese would be AWESOME. Visiting the ruins of ancient (and modern) cities would be a much remembered vacation.


Speaking Arabic would be so exciting for touring the Middle East!


Lastly, Speaking and reading and having a deep understanding of Hebrew would be so enlightening to learn about Biblical history. Immersed in language of my ancestors would be both  informative and illuminating.


So …..What is keeping all these things for being fruit in my life? I other passions takeover and I am again left with just fantasizing about being bilingual, a  real multilingual citizen of the world.



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Lazy Learners.”

One thought on “LAZY LEARNERS

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

