Life’s a Candy Store

inkspirationalmessages.com
inkspirationalmessages.com


Life’s a Candy Store



You get to be a 6-year-old kid again for one day and one day only — plan your perfect 24 hours. Where do you go, what do you do, and with whom?



Waking up, I get scrambled eggs, two strips of crispy bacon, and strawberry jelly on lightly toasted bread. I can have three glasses of orange juice if I want. (The glasses were almost thimble-sized!) Ice-cold chocolate milk completes the morning breakfast.

Next Pudgy, my three-foot-eight, corduroy teddy bear in children’s farm overhauls, wakens from his morning nap and is ready to play school.

All my stuffed animals are aligned in the hallway on as many movable chairs as our house possesses. Each chair seats at least two animals. Pudgy, of course, has a chair of his own.

We immediately read a story aloud and write a new ending adventure that the main character might have had. (No Math today!)

Playtime for the next three hours- until lunch- would be outside. Swing sets, sandboxes, and adventure hikes with our dog to the woods would be on the agenda next.

Sometime in the morning, a jug of tea would be carried to Dad. He would be working in the fields.

Lunchtime arrives and we get to have a picnic. (Since it is my dream day- only my favorites are served!) We sit down at the table to peanut-butter and banana sandwiches, potato salad, cherry Jello with pineapple slices hidden in it, and German chocolate cake. I can have as many glasses of iced tea as I want! (Mom has to make more tea!) For desert we have banana splits.

After a one-hour nap that snuck up on me while I was reading a book to Pudgy, we go outside again.

The neighbors have come over for a kickball game. There are eleven of us. I get to be full-time pitcher! The boys play against the girls. The boys win by slaughter rule… three games in a row!

Mom calls out for me to take another two jugs of tea to Dad and the workers in the field. Supper will be in an hour.

I stay in the fields with Dad riding on the tractor’s wagon. We finish the upper-field collecting all the bales of hay and stack them in the barn. I get to steer the tractor home for supper.

For supper Mom has prepared her specialty- fried chicken. We have mashed potatoes and gravy. Homemade dressing. Fresh-baked cherry pie. And more great iced tea.

Bath time is quickly approaching… it is probably about 8pm. I quickly get my bath over and pick out the books I am going to read to Pudgy for the night. After my piano practice while my sister and cousin are completing their baths, we all go to bed. (The piano is in my bedroom.)

I throw Pudgy into the bed- bouncing him off the wall … and I leap into bed … Spiderman-like. (A kid can’t let the boogeyman under the bed touch you as your enter dreamlands.) Cutting on my bed lamp, I settle in to read to Pudgy our next great adventure book. (I probably read Pudgy’s favorite book to him first… Mike Mulligan and the Steam Shovel.) Then we both lay down top find a new escapade… Likely I am in another of my new 20+ set of Hardy Boys books. I probably have snuck a NewBook of Knowledge encyclopedia of the shelf to look through before I go to sleep.

Sometime in the night, Mom comes in and cuts off my bed lamp. I have fallen asleep. She removes the books from the bed and makes sure that Pudgy and I are far enough away from the edge of the bed that the boogeyman can’t reach up and grab us.

I sleep the sleep of the blessed.

***What a great day!



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Life’s a Candy Store.”

9 thoughts on “Life’s a Candy Store

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

