When Childhood Ends

http://www.conversationsblog.com/2012/12/yes-no-maybe-yes-maybe/
http://www.conversationsblog.com/2012/12/yes-no-maybe-yes-maybe/


When Childhood Ends



Write about a defining moment in your life when you were forced to grow up in an instant (or a series of instants).



When did I first take steps that led away from boyhood and into manhood?

I think that my first steps taken toward being my own man was when I decided that I wanted to pursue a college education. This was wonderfully received by my family because I did not enjoy my classes in high school.

After talking to a counselor about wanting to stop my present path of education- get out of high school- I was completely annoyed. There was a set-in-concrete path a person must pursue to get to college… and I was not choosing the appropriate avenues of success. (Needless to say the counselor was not at all helpful or understanding of my dilemma in life.)

I decided that if I wanted to go to college, I would have to make it happen myself.

It was not that my parents were against college. Neither of my folks had gone to college… Neither had completed high school (Days were very different then!) But they were both VERY MUCH in favor of me going to college!

My parents had the same problem with me considering college as my counselor- I was too young.

I wanted to go to college – instead of high school- at the wise age of 13.

I had had my fill of the wasted work and worthless assignments. I wanted the real world.

Thanks to a military recruiter who showed up at our high school many more possibilities were suddenly presented to me as a future!

I was in an upper-level class – just because of a major fuss that my mother had kicked up the previous year- and was allowed to take the ASVAB (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery).

I had a very respectable score and the recruiter was extremely interested in me. That was … until he found out my true age.

Thank God, he did not poo-poo my aspirations. I asked him if I could use these ASVAB scores from his test to ask colleges to look at me with my college applications. (I was too young for the counselors to allow me to try the SATs.) He said, “Yes!” He even allowed me to use his name as a reference!

I did.

I immediately applied to the three college that I thought I wanted to attend.

All three accepted me.

With this information in hand, I was far more in control of my future when I talked with my counselors… Suddenly, my questions were morerelevant that they had been just three months before!

From then on life went much better. I tested out of classes that I did not want to take…I concentrated on the passion that I had at the time- music.  I graduated- three years later- as a far happier student… and happiness continues to follow me on to where I am now.

From that experience, I have learned…

Many people know how to solve a problem with PLAN A as the solution.

A few people will allow themselves to think out-of-the-box to seek a PLAN B.

I know…. Beyond a doubt… there is most likely a PLAN C that is even a better solution, if one would only allow the efforts to seek a better solution for all!

If a solution is not obvious… and a quagmire seems to exist… I always look for a PLAN C!



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “When Childhood Ends.”

4 thoughts on “When Childhood Ends

  1. Roger, you have a very fluid and engaging writing style. I enjoyed this piece and am in awe that at the age of 13 you had the wherewithall to ask if you could use the military exam test scores to further your education. Quite amazing! I was still being a kid at that age back in the 60s. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

