An Unknown Admirer

https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/   Graham Lawrence  2014
https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/ Graham Lawrence 2014


AN UNKNOWN ADMIRER




I had noticed her there – every day – the last three weeks. At the off-shoot of the path. Where the fitness trails intersects with the walking maze.

Her easel and paints were always in front of her. Her brush always seemed to be directed purposefully at her canvas.

When I completed my run, she was always gone.

I had never seen her enter the tiny off-shoot … Nor had I ever seen her leave.

I was astounded when I rounded the final turn of the trail. The entire western end of the lot was invaded by police and rescue personal.

“Sir,” my stupor was interrupted. “The lieutenant would like to see you.”

The officer gently took my arm… a tad pushy.

“What is it?”

“Been an incident near the entry of the mazes.”

Without thinking, I blurted, “The elderly, lady painter?”

“How well did you know her?”

“Not at all”

“Seems unlikely…”

I looked to where he directed my gaze. There were eleven canvas paintings of me in mid-stride racing through the wooded trails.



FFAW wpid-photo-20150921073208143Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Requirements: Using the photo Prompt and 175 words, create a flash fiction story.

15 thoughts on “An Unknown Admirer

  1. Now that we have your challenge story linked… I love this story! He noticed her and apparently she had been noticing him too. That must make him feel strange. Great story Roger, I enjoyed reading it. Thank you for participating in FFfAW challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoa, did not see that ending coming! And wow, she must have been an excellent painter, to capture an image so well that rushes past so quickly. Makes me wonder what this “incident” was. Perhaps she also captured the image on canvas of someone else, but they were doing something they shouldn’t have been doing…

    Liked by 2 people

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

