Going Obsolete

www.123rf.com
http://www.123rf.com


DAILY PROMPT



Going Obsolete



Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?



As the world turns, it seems as if more and more of the things that make me comfortable- and generate so many warm memories- are losing their gravitational power to maintain ground contact.

The Pay Phone

I no longer have a land line… the expense of a cell and a residential was just ridiculous. But, when I am gone for longer periods of time, and I happen to have forgotten to recharge my phone (not myself-although that happens as well)who ya gonna call? There are no pay phones!

A Phonebook(that can be read!)

I still receive a phonebook each year. They are thrown upon the driveway, all carefully tied in a baggie to be made waterproof. But the size of the font in the book is so small… probably a 6 or a 7 … that it is impossible to read. I would rather purchase a book that is legible, than have a gift of a phone directory that is useless.

Maps

Maps are becoming a decorative feature of the modern world. Please, allow me to have a map instead of a GPS… any day! Even if they don’t talk!

Newspapers

I miss newspapers… I miss the touch of them… I miss their smell… I miss possessing them- and fighting over- the cartoons. I know, we still have them. I just renewed mine for the whooping price of $75.00 for the year….And that is the online subscription. Overhead cost for printing… ONCE!

Typewriters

Only this year, I stopped calling the keyboard… a typewriter. I miss the clackety…clackety…clackety… of knowing that you were getting work competed.

A Hand-Held PDA

This is the only one of the obsoletes that I have yet to replace. It felt soooo comforting to have my life organized in my hand…. Google Calendar just doesn’t cut it.

But Most of All….. I miss being able to comfortably tie my shoes?



In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Going Obsolete.”

2 thoughts on “Going Obsolete

  1. I know. The thing that made me feel the oldest on my trip back to the States this time was that I got lost and needed to call my sister to get directions to her house. I stopped at a Denny’s and asked where their pay phone was and the waitress looked at my blankly and asked, “What’s a payphone?” Argh!!!! Luckily there was one mature person there who volunteered to let me use their phone. Needless to say, while I was there I got a damn cell phone–and borrowed my sister’s GPS.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah yes. Pay phones on the corner accessible to everyone. I get excited these days on the odd occasion that I see one especially if it works. Even if it doesn’t just the memory of growing up they bring makes me warm inside.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

