You Are My Favorite Author

travel.ninemsn.com.
travel.ninemsn.com.


You Are My Favorite Author



“I am in such a rut,” complained Steven as he was trying to do the third re-write of his second novel. “I have lost my drive. There is no more inspiration in me. If I don’t believe in my book any longer, why should my agent… or even my publisher?”

“It’s my job to believe in you,” his agent quipped. Maybe you should take some advice from one of your favorite authors. ‘I have avoided becoming stale by putting a little water on the plate, lying on the plate, and having myself refreshed in a toaster oven for 23 minutes once every month.’ Dean Koontz said that in an interview just a couple of weeks ago.”

“So I just forget about the book for a few days, grab my favorite beverage, sit out by the pool, and enjoy the sun?”

“Maybe it would help? Get your engines started again?”

“Well, he must know what he was talking about. Misery was a best seller. I really liked it.”

“Steven, Misery was written by Steven King.”

“What about The Stand? Now that book was awesome. It was a privilege to read that one.”

“That’s Steven King, too. What about Strangers?”

“We are like strangers. I thought you were supposed to know me? To lift my spirits? Cheer me up?”

“No. Strangers was written by Dean Koontz.”

“Was that a good read?”



My apologies for the jest with Mr. Koontz. I enjoy his books!

The quote from Dean Koontz came from: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/stale.html#II2yMLyMh61pF09P.99



Written for Three Word Wednesdays: Week 429: Requirements: Create a story using the three provided words as your prompt.

Misery, noun: A state of feeling great distress or discomfort of mind or body; a cause or source of great distress or discomfort.

Privilege, noun: a special right, advantage, or immunity granted or available only to a particular person or group of people; something regarded as a rare opportunity and bringing particular pleasure.

Stale, adjective: (of food) no longer fresh and pleasant to eat; hard, musty, or dry; no longer new and interesting or exciting; (of a person) no longer able to perform well or creatively because of having done something for too long.

2 thoughts on “You Are My Favorite Author

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

