My Favorite Toy

www.largestuffedbears.
http://www.largestuffedbears.

DAILY PROMPT


Toy Story


What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?




My favorite plaything as a child, and one that I still have 50+ years later, is a fuzzy, stuffed teddy bear named Pudgy. I received Pudgy, probably, when I was two or three. I don’t remember receiving him. I don’t remember if it was a birthday present or a Christmas present. But I don’t remember any of my life without him.

We would play school together when I was young. He would sit on my lap and I would read to him. I would sit on his lap and he would read to me. When we played school, I always expected the utmost attention and work-of-higher-standards from Pudgy. He was the oldest of all the students. Plus, it would not be good for a teacher to show favoritism to their favorite student. (I somehow knew about this concept at a very early age?) 

I think that my friendship with Pudgy was what allowed me to enter school early. I know that the relationship encouraged me to read and write and ‘rithmatic beyond my years. I had to know the skills because I needed to teach them to Pudgy.

Now, 50+ years later, I am in the sunset years of retirement. Pudgy still has a place in my heart and in my study. I still read to him many of my compositions- especially the ones that I am most proud of writing, or the ones in which I am still looking for that special something.  Pudgy still of a very good listener and a great ally.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Toy Story.”

I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

