A Psychiatric Conundrum

http://www.creative-writing-now.com/
http://www.creative-writing-now.com/


DAY 12    


WRITING PROMPT: Write a poem about a piece of advice you’ve received.  Or write a story about a character who suspects her husband is bribing her psychiatrist to give her certain advice.




www.nytimes.com
http://www.nytimes.com

“I’m telling you, Margery, there’s something not right going on.”

“You always have had a vivid imagination.”

“Don’t you go there, girl. I had my session with Sattler this afternoon, and all we talked about was me missing the romance from when Clyde and I used to date. I get home from my session this evening, there’s a courier arriving at my door with a dozen red roses.”

“Consequences happen.”

“But this is the third time in a row.”

“Last session, I told Sattler about Clyde never doing anything helpful around the house. Clyde comes home from work, sits in his Easy-Boy, and watches whatever team happens to be in the Sports Channel. After supper, you would think the meal had been another shift at work. He showers and heads to bed. But that evening, out-of-the-blue, Clyde says that he thinks that it is his turn to do the dishes. HIS TURN! He hasn’t done the dishes since we moved into this neighborhood five years ago!. I’m telling you Margery, there is something fishy going on here.”

“Why don’t you make it work in your favor?”

“What do you mean?”

“Well, if you really think that the Doctor and Clyde are in cahoots, set him up.”

“Ahhh… That would just serve him right.”

“Remember that red convertible that we saw in the showcase when I was taking Bud his lunch yesterday?”

“Sure?”

“Well, don’t you need a new car.? That old thing that you are driving has over 250,000 miles on it. See what you can get out of this scoundrel.”

“Margery, Clyde is not a scoundrel. I just wish that he showed he appreciated me a little more.”

“Well, my dear. Nothing says “I love you” like a red convertible.”

“Do you think I should?”

“If you are driving a red convertible next week when we have girl’s night out…. We will know that there is a lot more going on here than just two or three creative consequences.”

“Alright. I will. Next Thursdays at Doc Staller’s is going to be an interesting, and possibly very rewarding, session.”


Written for Creative Writing Now: Be a Writer Now class.


I'd love to hear from you. It's nice to know other people are out there.

